Library Board


The Roslyn Library Board of Trustees meets the first Wednesday of the month at 9:30 a.m. in the library. Meetings are open to the public. Members of the Library's Board of Trustees are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Roslyn to establish the library mission, long range plan, and policies as required by Washington State laws and regulations.

The information below is the work of many trustees, past and present. Trustees review policies and planning documents through their monthly meetings and annual planning retreats. Trustees are appointed for a 2 year term and may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.


  • Karen Heiken - President
  • Dee Rush - Vice President
  • Pico Cantieni - Secretary
  • Kevin Kane
  • Angela Amdur

Library Board Goals and Objectives

To ensure the library’s budget allocation is sufficient to meet the needs of the community. 

To provide adequate and competent staffing to meet public service and management needs. 

To better the library experience for the community by providing a safe, accessible and fully functional library facility. 

To provide access to a robust collection of books and other materials that serve as a valuable resource for learning, information and pleasure. 

To provide programs for children and adults which promote lifelong learning, cultural enrichment, and community belonging. 

To utilize various types of appropriate technology to meet the information needs of the community and the administrative needs of staff. 

To promote the professional administration of the library. 

To encourage the public’s use of the library.


Made possible with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Washington State Library, Office of the Secretary of State.